Wednesday, February 19, 2020

A highly class field will assemble at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool for the running of the Dutton Garage Australian Speedcar Championship as presented by Dream Multi-Media on February 28 and 29, 2020.

The 2020 Australian Speedcar Championship is proudly presented by Dutton Garage and Dream Multi and will be held from Friday February 28, 2020 to Saturday February 29, 2020.

A total of 46 entries were received with the field now having been reduced to 45 due to the unfortunate withdrawal of Queensland’s Callum Walker with an unforeseen issue with the Q35 Challenger/Toyota meaning they will not make the journey South.

The entry list is littered with Stars, with defending Champion Dayne Kingshott set to put the Title he won at the Perth Motorplex last year on the line in his A1 Esslinger powered Spike Chassis combination.

The Western Australian star, will be joined in the field by 2017-18 National Champion Kaidon Brown who is fresh off an appearance at the famed Chili Bowls in the United States, where he recorded a very impressive C-Main finish.

Super Star New Zealander, Michael Pickens, will make the trek across the ditch to campaign his New Zealand Title winning machinery as he goes in search of a second Australian Championship to sit alongside the one he captured during the 2015-16 season. Pickens will be aboard the 1NZ King Chassis, backed by a Toyota power plant.

Another former National Champion, Nathan Smee, is also amongst the entrants as he looks to break an Aussie Title winning drought, that has now extended into a tenth season, with the 2009-10 Champ, always being a threat at Warrnambool and he is set to make a statement abord the N14 Spike/Fontana.

American Star and 2019 World of Outlaws Sprintcar Series Rookie of the Year – Carson Macedo, is no stranger to Premier Speedway, however the 2020 Australian Speedcar Championship will be his first visit to Warrnambool in a Speedcar.

Macedo was the dominant force in Sydney in the Speedcar Division over the Christmas – New Year period against some quality opposition and he will be looking to replicate that form next week.

Having finished second in 2014 at Speedway City in Adelaide and third on three other occasions in the Australian Speedcar Championship, Alex Bright is another of the American visitors that will be super keen to see the coveted A1 leave our shores.

Bright will be in the W4 Esslinger powered entry and has to be considered as one of the favorites leading into the event as he aims to become the first American since Rico Abreu led home Brady Bacon and Nathan Smee in Brisbane in 2017 to win the Australian Championship.

A duo of American competitors will suit up for Victorian based car owner Mike Griffiths. 

Oklahoma’s Michelle Decker will form one half of the two-pronged Griffith’s backed American attack, with the USAC Western State Feature Winner being joined by Shannon McQueen from Bakersfield, California in a pair of Simpson Race Products backed entries.

Rounding out the International entrants is Auckland, New Zealand’s Kaleb Currie who will pilot the Hardwyer Motorsport S6 entry with support of the Speedway Shop.

Having won the Beasley Family Memorial at Sungold Stadium on January 5, Matt Jackson will come to the Australian Championship brimming with confidence, albeit with a different team to that which he tasted success just under two months ago.

Troy Jenkins aboard the N78 entry, returns to right some wrongs from January 5, while the strong Victorian contingent headed up by Travis Mills, Mitch Whiting, Domain Ramsay, Andy Pearce and Justin McMinn will enjoy the familiar surrounds of Sungold Stadium.

With entrants from the USA, New Zealand and a majority of the Australian States and Territories, the 2020 Australian Speedcar Championship will be a hotly contested wide open affair.

Tickets for the Australian Speedcar Championship are currently available via www.premierspeedway.com.au.

On-line sales will cease at midnight on Thursday February 27, 2020 with nightly ticket sales available from gate opening at 4pm on Race Days.

The entry list is:

A1 Dayne Kingshott
1NZ Michael Pickens (NZ)
W4j Alex Bright (USA)
S6 Kaleb Currie (NZ)
W7 Tom Payet
V88 Jack Day
V9 Matthew Balcombe
V10 Travis Mills
V10m Caleb Mills
N11 Jay Waugh 
T12 Fred Freeman 
V12 Justin McMinn
N14 Nathan Smee 
V15 Andy Pearce
V17 Mitch Whiting
V21 Adam Wallis 
V22 Joe Lostitch 
W23 Glen Mears
N24 Clint Leibhardt 
V26 Taylor Gore
W26 Keenan Fleming
V27 Dillon Ghent
N34 Jeffrey Burns
V39 Nick Parker 
N40 Dave Lambert 
Q41w Glenn Wright 
N42 Warren Ferguson 
N51 Michael Stewart 
V55 Toby Smith 
N57 Harley Smee 
S57 Robert Heard 
S71 Troy Ware 
V71r Domain Ramsay 
V72 Glen Shaw 
V75c Shannon McQueen (USA)
V75ok Michelle Decker (USA)
N78 Troy Jenkins 
S83 Brett Ireland 
S88 Todd Wigzell 
V88 Craig Smith 
Q89 Rusty Whittaker 
T91 Brock Webster 
N97 Matt Jackson 
V97 Kaidon Brown 
N99 Carson Macedo (USA)

End Release.

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

© 2016 Speedcars Australia Inc

Show More