top of page

Six Crown Series Tow Money Confirmed

Last season in conjunction with Speedway Australia, Speedcars Australia Inc established the inaugural Five Crown Speedcar Series, which incorporated each State Speedcar Championship held over the season. A bonus $10,000 was up for grabs as a series prize pool, and tow money was made available to interstate competitors attending each round.

WELCOME TASMANIA: In 2016-2017, the series grows once more to include the inaugural running of the Tasmanian Speedcar Championship at Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway on March 11th & 12th 2017. A stand-alone funding grant put up by Speedcars Australia this season will offset costs to get mainland cars across the Bass Strait to attend this historic event! As planning is critical to organise shipping requirements, competitors and car owners are advised to contact Karen Henri of the Tasmanian Speedcar Drivers Association via to register your interest!

TOW MONEY LOCKED IN: Enhancing the now named Six Crown Speedcar Series even further is the establishment of a fixed rate tow money schedule for each round calculated at 15c per kilometre travelled (based on the distance between capital cities and the host venue as at 01JAN17, not from individual residences). For example, the first round held by Premier Speedway in Warrnambool VIC may have competitors attend from Queensland. QLD competitor tow money has been calculated as 1,898 kilometres (rounded up) representing Brisbane to the venue, which based on 15cents/kilometre equals $285 (also rounded). It is important to note the following:

  • Tow money will be paid to car owners direct by Speedcars Australia from the combined pool, rather than via the individual clubs per last season. To ensure your funds are paid, car owners are requested to email bank details to after each event.

  • For cars that are not based in their home state this season, car owners are to advise Speedcars Australia via their nominated local state. For example, a NSW car based in WA for the season should not earn tow money for attending the WA title, but can be eligible for NSW title tow money if they define WA as their base-state for the season. This can be set only once and can not be changed between rounds. This will be validated with the two states involved.

  • Attendance at the events will be validated. Competitors must take the green flag at the event to be eligible for tow money (this can include hot laps & time trials).

The following tow money schedules are fixed for the 2016-2017 Six Crown Speedcar Series / State Championships:

Victorian Speedcar Championship & Six Crown Series Round 1:

Sunday 8th January 2017 – Sungold Stadium - Premier Speedway, Warrnambool VIC

QLD $285 NSW $167

SA $93 WA $496

TAS $144*

New South Wales Speedcar Championship & Six Crown Series Round 2:

Saturday 25th February 2017 – Valvoline Raceway, Parramatta NSW

QLD $138 VIC $131

SA $205 WA $589

TAS $239*

Inaugural Tasmanian Speedcar Championship & Six Crown Series Round 3:

Saturday 11th & Sunday 12th March 2017 – Cranes Combined Carrick Speedway, Carrick TAS

A Speedcars Australia Inc. transportation grant has been established for this event – please contact Karen Henri of the Tasmanian Speedcar Drivers Association (TSDA) via, for information or to register your interest and initiate transport plans.

Western Australian Speedcar Championship & Six Crown Series Round 4:

Saturday 18th March 2017 – Perth Motorplex, Kwinana WA

QLD $651 NSW $595

VIC $517 TAS $624*

SA $408

Queensland Speedcar Championship & Six Crown Series Round 5:

Saturday 25th March 2017 – Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway, Archerfield QLD

NSW $139 VIC $248

TAS $356* SA $299

WA $645

South Australian Speedcar Championship & Six Crown Series Final:

Saturday 1st April 2017 – Murray Machining & Sheds Speedway, Murray Bridge SA

QLD $290 NSW $195

VIC $98 TAS $205*

WA $413

* Whilst it is unlikely Tasmanian based competitors will travel to the mainland this season, assistance may be sought to subsidise Bass Strait crossing costs. Please contact your local Speedcars Australia Inc. board members Kim Webster & Geoff Henri, or email for further information.

bottom of page