top of page

Australian Speedcar Championship to SA's Murray Bridge Speedway in February 2018!

Speedcars Australia Incorporated in conjunction with Murray Bridge Speedway, are pleased to announce the allocation of the 77th Australian Speedcar Championship to Murray Machining & Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway for Friday 9th & Saturday 10th of February 2018! This will be the first time this prestigious event hits Murray Bridge Speedway since season 2008-2009 where American Kevin Swindell took the crown; and will no doubt thrill race fans once again with a mix of local and international stars!

The annual Australian Speedcar Championship is generally one of the highest prize money paying events of the race season and sees competitors from across the country and often from the United States and New Zealand battle it out for the sought-after crown. Unlike many other national championships in Australian speedway racing, overseas drivers are permitted to compete in the Australian Speedcar Championship. In fact Americans have won the championship thirteen times since it's inception, eight of which have been since season 2002-2003; and in 2017, American Rico Abreu took his first Australian Speedcar Championship win to become our reigning champion. Michael Pickens made history in February 2016 by becoming the first winner of the event from New Zealand.

​The first Australian Speedcar Championship was hosted in 1935 in Melbourne and while formats and structures have evolved over the years, the championship has been awarded almost annually, excluding the years of World War II and in the event of wash-outs or similar. NSW's Andy McGavin and Ray Revell are the most successful drivers in the Australian Championship honour roll, both winning five championships (all won before 1964-65). West Australian Michael Figliomeni, Northern Territory's Warrenne Ekins and NSW's Adam Clarke have each won the event four times, all since 1989-1990. Australia's first Formula One World Champion Sir Jack Brabham also won the Australian Speedcar championship in 1948-1949.​

NSW is the most winningest state of the Australian Championship, claiming the crown 31 times. Western Australia has claimed 12 wins, while a Queenslander has taken the crown 5 times, as has the Northern Territory. South Australia has seen only 3 winners and despite hosting the inaugural event in 1935, Victoria has seen only 4 winners with a winning drought since 1938-1939! Tasmania who joined Speedcars Australia in 2015-2016 is yet to take a win off the mainland.​

Follow Speedcars Australia Inc, the Australian Speedcar Championship and Murray Bridge Speedway on Facebook as more information is announced.

bottom of page