top of page


Highly rated 22-year Kaleb Currie is the latest International Driver to nominate for the Dutton Garage Australian Speedcar Championship at Sungold Stadium, Premier Speedway, Warrnambool. The regular competitor at New Zealand’s famed Western Springs Speedway, will drive for South Australia’s Mark Harrington aboard the immaculately prepared The Speedway Shop backed S6 Esslinger powered Spike. Currie, a former Western Springs Drivers Club Rookie of the Year has also competed in POWRi competition in the United States as well as performing well at the Chili Bowl and will be a welcome addition to the field for the 2020 Australian Speedcar Championship. A pair of highly regarded New South Welshman are now also officially entered for the Championship weekend with Troy Jenkins and Matt Jackson set to stake a claim for the coveted A1. Jenkins will wheel out the N78 Spike Toyota combination as he looks to add the Australian Championship to an enviable resume that already includes two Australian Championship runner up and three Australian Speedcar GP wins. Jackson, with New South Wales and South Australian State Title wins under his belt as well as being a two-time Beasley Family Memorial winner is one of the genuine contenders. The Diamond Air Conditioning N97 Hawk / Spike combination is proven at Sungold Stadium having won at his last start I the 2020 Beasley Family Memorial where he led home Nathan Smee and Mitch Whiting. Whiting is another of the recent entrants as the resident of Nar Nar Goon in Victoria gets set to again drive the Midwest Imports, Victory Lane Racegear, SWI Engineering, One Tooling and Kinnear Equipment V17 throughout the Championship weekend. The former Australian 2 in Junior Sedans is rapidly making a name for himself in the Speedcar Ranks and could be one to watch over the two nights of competition. Former Compact Speedcar stand-out Jack Day is another of the Victorian’s looking to protect home soil on Title weekend. Day will campaign the Cazberg Earthworks, Visual Signage Solutions V8 Eagle. The Moore Plant Hire S57 entry of South Australian Robert Heard is also among the entry list as the field for the 79th Australian Speedcar Championship begins to take shape. The 2020 Australian Speedcar Championship is proudly presented by Dutton Garage and Dream Multi and will be held from Friday February 28, 2020 to Saturday February 29, 2020. Tickets for the Australian Speedcar Championship are currently available via On-line sales will cease at midnight on Thursday February 27, 2020 with nightly ticket sales available from gate opening at 4pm on Race Days. The current entry list is: 1nz Michael Pickens (NZ) S6 Kaleb Currie (NZ) W7 Tom Payet V8 Jack Day V9 Matthew Balcombe V10 Travis Mills V10m Caleb Mills V12 Justin McMinn V17 Mitch Whiting W23 Glen Mears V26 Taylor Gore W26 Keenan Fleming N34 Jeffrey Burns N40 Dave Lambert N51 Michael Stewart V55 Toby Smith N57 Harley Smee S57 Robert Heard S71 Troy Ware V71r Domain Ramsay V72 Glen Shaw V75c Shannon McQueen (USA) V75ok Michelle Decker (USA) N78 Troy Jenkins Q89 Rusty Whittaker T91 Brock Webster N97 Matt Jackson N99 Carson Macedo (USA) End Release.

bottom of page